Criticality | Version 2

For my second design, I have chosen to think about what I would say on the wrap of the design can. How I could make a connection between the brands that I was focusing my attention on to express my reasoning behind how that brand is using its name and branding to exploit a products price. 

Before I carry on, I am aware that I have spelt Heinz wrong! 

I incorporated photography of the product rather than a branded packaging, to shine a light on what the product actually is, rather than the branded product that has its own personality and visual language that is consistent.  I also used the image to make it obvious that the products are same. When you can actually see what it is inside the tin can rather than rather than the brand it becomes clear that there is not much difference between the products after all.  Why would you spend more money a product that you can get for cheaper that is basically the same? I’ve stuck with the same font ’Arial’ because of the same reason stated earlier.  What I have done though is use Transparent colour behind the brand names to show a slight change to make names eligible and visually easier read. 

I also did a plain packaging with just the names of the cans instead of the baked beans background just too see how it looked printed out. My initial idea was to make it as minimal as possible so that I didn’t use colour and anything that symbolised the product that creates a brand identity compared with other brands. with just with a slight change in the wording, so I have removed the bean and left the changed wording with the block colour background to see if it is stronger or that the one with the baked bean background. 

The next stage was to print them out and see what they looked like actually on the tin can. They did look better than the previous design. However, it didn’t seem critical enough about the brains and the bean background after a conversation looked different to what you get as it showed to the much red sauce. It was interesting as you don’t normally see vast amounts of the sauce on packaging and when the brand is being shown in supermarkets and adverts. When actually removing labels of the cans to replace them with this design I thought of using collage to show the brands of baked beans and tier out there names and show them this way. 

Leave a comment